Popsicle Summer

image

Last summer I was pregnant. Hot, sweaty, grumpy, tummy achy—-> pregnant! I bought a Popsicle maker thinking it would change my life. I made one batch and it was just one of those pregnancy taste bud things where I took one bite and and I wasn’t feeling it. It was really quite tragic actually. (However, looking back those Popsicles were made with Sheeps milk yogurt and this organic low sugar version of Nutella-no bueno! I was OBSESSED with yogurt when I was pregger and was trying every possible version, needless to say, the sheep milk yogurt had a little funk that I’m just not that into)

This summer I’ve dusted off the ole Popsicle maker and I’ve been going to town! It all started with a vision…Jello Pudding Pop! What happened to them?!  Where are they?! Does Bill Cosby have a stash in his freezer that are going to be auctioned off once he is imprisoned for his heinous crimes?! Sorry, I’m still really bitter about all that…anyway….so like I often do I become obsessed, this time with the idea of the puddin pop. I’ve made Martha Stewart’s pudding recipe several times and it’s really delicious, rich, and most importantly pretty quick. So I made the pudding, poured it into the Popsicle mold, popped it on the freezer, and for 24 hours I dreamt of creamy frozen chocolate childhood bliss. The next day after dinner, it was time. My partner, Ian, and I reached in the freezer and unveiled what was to be, aside from the birth of our child, the greatest moment of our lives. The re-awakening of the chocolate pudding pop. Since that day I’ve made peach, mango, raspberry and I have all these dates that I need to use so I think at some point I am going to make this date caramel I keep hearing about and incorporating it into a Popsicle…how bad could that be?

Chocolate Pudding Pops:

•Popsicle mold/maker

image

-I use (and LOVE) the Zoku Classic Pop Maker, it makes 6/3oz pops, it takes overnight so you do have to do some planning. I found it on Amazon for around $16, but they have a pricier version, the Quick Pop Maker, and that will give you a pop sooner. You can always go old skool and use little paper cups and wooden Popsicle sticks!

• 1 recipe for Chocolate Pudding

http://www.marthastewart.com/314077/vanilla-or-chocolate-pudding

-As mention before I use my old standby recipe from Martha Stewart, I provided the link. Any pudding recipe should work, I’d imagine you could even get away with using a box mix. I’m not judging!

Make the pudding, fill the mold, throw it in the freezer, wait……then enjoy!

Once you do one batch you’ll be obsessed and throwing everything in there! I use fat free Greek Yogurt as a base, honey as a sweetener and whatever fruits I have on hand. Full fat yogurt does make a creamier pop FYI. Sometimes I use just a simple purée of fruit and nothing else and I justify that as a healthy breakfast treat! (I think breakfast Popsicles are on the verge of being the next cronut). I’ve added chunks of fruit, peanut butter, nuts, cookie bits….its endless! Pinterest has a ton of Popsicle recipes and some even have booze!

image

Leave a Reply

